Great performances at National Indoor League Final

  • Posted on: 7 February 2018
  • By: Mags

Galway City Harriers women’s and men’s teams competed in two rounds of the Indoor League to make it to the final last weekend.  The final was held at the National Indoor Arena, in Abbottstown, Dublin. After a lot of last minute reshuffling due to illness and injury, both teams really stepped up with many of the athletes doubling up in events.  

The GCH Ladies just missed out on a medal, placing fourth, with all of the squad doubling up in events to score points with Kathryn Casserly scoring well in both  the 800 and 1500m, Aoife Sheehy finished 2nd in the 60m hurdles, 3rd in the triple jump and 6th in the high jump. Seren O’Toole took 2nd in the long jump and 6th in the shot putt; Laura Nally finished a fine 2nd in the 400m and Nicole king finished 3rd in the 60m and 5th in the 200m, with the relay team a fine second. Other athletes who competed for the team in the qualifying rounds included Laura Ann Costello and Lydia Doyle.Team Manager was Majella Loftus.

The GCH Men’s team finished in fifth place in the Mens event with the ever-consistent Sean Breathnach taking maximum points in the Shot Putt. Multi eventer Michael Breathnach took on three events, finishing 3rd in the 60m hurdles, and 6th in both the pole vault and the high jump.

Sprinter Cillin Greene doubled up in the 200m and 60m finishing in 4th and 5th position respectively, Henrique Nkolovata placed 4th in the Triple Jump and 5th in the Long Jump, John Moroney doubled up with 3rd in the 1500m and 5th in the 1500m while Jonah Erugo scored in 5th in the 400m. Darren Costello joined Rob Meagher, Jonah Erugo and Michael Breathnach in the 4 x 200m relay to finish in 5th position. Other athletes who competed for the team in the qualifying rounds included James Frizzell, Eoghan Jennings, Brendan McDonnell and Darragh Whyte.Team Manager was Cliff Jennings.

At the AAI Indoors the following day, Sean Breathneach , Michael Breathneach and Brendan Staunton finished first, third and fourth respectively in the Shot Putt.