GCH Athletes Impress at Connacht Secondary Schools Championships

  • Posted on: 22 May 2017
  • By: Ger

The Connacht Schools Championships took place last Thursday in Athlone IT .  Weather conditions were wet and windy but despite this there were some brilliant performances on the day.  With only two qualifying places for the coveted National Fnals next month  in the sprint competitions  the stakes were high and this resulted in some great times being recorded on the day.

In the Senior Boys competition Jack Dempsey won the 100m in a super quick time of 10.82 with Cillian Greene running 10.83 in 2nd place.  Cillin Greene continued his good form and was the  winner of  the 200m title in 22.2.  James Frizzell held off a strong challenge from Ben Garrard to win the 800m in a time of 2.01.  In the 5, 000m Gary Martyn made a smooth transition to the track after a successful cross country season  winning in 17.07 and was followed home in 2nd place by Michael HealyEanna Folan and Gordon O’Connor both picked up 3rd place  qualifying spots in the 1500m and 2,000m steeplechase.

In the Senior Girls competition Aoife Sheehy ran a magnificent race to hold off the challenge  Ellie McGeogh in the 400m hurdles in a new PB of 68.0.  Laura Nally had a comfortable win in the 400m running a season’s best time of 60.7. Lydia Doyle ran an impressive time of 12.52 to secure the second qualifying place in the 100m in a highly competitive field.

At Intermediate level  Kacper Poniatowski  stormed home to win the Boys 400m final in a new PB of 53.47.  Diego Brule continues to go from strength to strength and took the 400m hurdles title in a new PB of 1.00.  Aaron Brennan ran strongly to secure second in the 1500m and 3rd in the 800m.

In the Intermediate Girls Competition Seren O’Toole dominated both the 300m hurdles and 200m races achieving two new PBs on route,  ( 26.2 in the 200m and 48.73 in the 300m hurdles).  Laoise Geraghty ran strongly in the 300m to take the title in 44.1.

At Junior level,  Eoghan Jennings was the winner of the Pole Vault leaping to a height of  2.30m and he was also 2nd in the Discus.  Cillian Jordan took 2nd in the 1500m and Barry Murphy secured the 3rd qualifying position.  Eimear Rowe was a clear winnier of  the Girls 800m in a time of 2.26 and Sinead Duggan was 2nd in the Long Jump.

At Minor level Paula Crissan won the High Jump leaping to 1.35m.


Please see the results attached below.

The National Finals take place on June 3rd in Tullamore.  See Timetable is attached below.