Streets of Galway

Results of 2008 Streets of Galway Road Race

  • Posted on: 10 August 2008
  • By: Vincent

Race results for last night's race are enclosed. A PDF of the results is available below if you want to print this out.

Race report and category winner details to follow.

Pos No Name Category PlaceCat Club ChipTime Finish
1 2210 Josphat Boit SM 1 Clonliffe Harriers 23:35 23:35
2 2134 Vinny Mulvey SM 2 Raheny Shamrock AC 23:51 23:51
3 638 Christopher Erichsen SM 3 24:36 24:36
4 2218 Cillian O'Leary SM 4 Raheny Shamrock AC 24:45 24:45
5 2011 Jason Fahy SM 5 Olympic Harriers 24:51 24:51
6 2217 David Rooney JM 1 Raheny Shamrock AC 25:07 25:07

Streets of Galway 2008 - Phew!

  • Posted on: 10 August 2008
  • By: Vincent

The Streets of Galway is over for another year. Congratulations to Josphat Boit, Clonliffe Harriers, who won the men's event and Rosemary Ryan, Bilboa AC, winning the women's even for a fourth time.

We're delighted to have hosted again a race that so many people enjoy and thank us for. Certainly a big attraction of the race is the warm, welcoming atmosphere created by our participants.

With the event behind us and only some final work on results and administration to sort out it's a good time to acknowledge the efforts of so many.


Streets of Galway - Race Records and Past Winners

  • Posted on: 7 August 2008
  • By: Vincent

The fast and flat course provides a great opportunity to get a personal best at the 8K distance in the Streets of Galway. You'll have to be very fast though to beat the current race records:

  • Women's Record: Rosemary Ryan Bilboa AC (2001) - 26:01
  • Men's Record: Séamus Power Kilmurray-Ibrickane AC (1998) and Josphat Boit Clonliffe Harriers AC (2009) - 22:49

Past winners since the race began in 1986 are as follows:

Women's Race Winners





Streets of Galway Prizelist 2008

  • Posted on: 31 May 2008
  • By: GCH Web

The Streets of Galway prize fund has been further increased to a total in excess of €5,000. Prizes are as follows:

Winner and Course Record

€500 is guaranteed to the winner of both the men's and the women's race. Furthermore a bonus of €500 is available in each race for a new course record.

Women's prize list

Senior Women
1st €500
2nd €250
3rd €150
4th €100
5th €75
6th €60

Vet. Women O/35
1st €75
2nd €50
3rd €40

Vet. Women O/40
1st €50
2nd €35

Final Streets of Galway Results 2007

  • Posted on: 16 August 2007
  • By: Vincent

We are pleased to be able to issue the final results for the 2007 FUTURE Streets of Galway 8k road race. The first 100 finishers can be viewed on this page and the complete list is available in the attached PDF file.

1 0:23:59 RYAN, Gerry Galway City Harriers AC Senior Men
2 0:24:07 MAHER, Brian Kilkenny City Harriers Senior Men
3 0:24:14 THORNTON, Gary Galway City Harriers AC Senior Men
4 0:24:25 YEATES, Richie Raheny Shamrocks Senior Men
5 0:24:41 TUREA, Sergiu Clonliffe Harriers AC Senior Men
6 0:24:51 O'CONNOR, Michael Galway City Harriers AC Senior Men

Streets of Galway 2007 Race Report

  • Posted on: 14 August 2007
  • By: mel

The 2007 FUTURE Streets of Galway 8k Road Race took place on Saturday evening last from Southpark in the Claddagh. This was the 22nd running of the race which is now one of the most popular road races in the country, ranking alongside such events as the Ballycotton 10 and the Adidas Irish Runner Race Series in the Phoenix Park. This year, the organisers Galway City Harriers had received over 2000 entries before the closing date. After heavy rain all day, the skies cleared just ten minutes before the off, to a collective sigh of relief from the participants and organisers alike.

2006 FUTURE Streets of Galway 8k Race Report

  • Posted on: 15 August 2006
  • By: GCH Web

[acidfree:117 size=300 align=right title="Seamus Power and Rosemary Ryan, race winners"]

The 21st Streets of Galway 8K Road Race, sponsored by local financial and brokerage firm FUTURE , took place on Saturday evening last. A record 1,452 participants crossed the finish line along Nimmos Pier in the Claddagh.

Streets of Galway 2006 - Results

  • Posted on: 13 August 2006
  • By: GCH Web

Last night's FUTURE Streets of Galway was another great race. A sincere thanks to our sponsors and all the volunteers and helpers who contributed so much to making the race a success.

The men's race was won in fine style by Seamus Power of Kilmurry Ibrickane/North Clare. The women's race was won by Rosemary Ryan of Bilboa AC. A full race report with category and team results can be found here. Meanwhile here's the full list of finishers and times.

Corrected Times (23-Aug-06)

Place Number Time Name Club Sex Category

2005 VHI Healthcare Streets of Galway 8K Report

  • Posted on: 8 February 2006
  • By: GCH Web

Close to 1,300 runners participated in the 2005 VHI Streets of Streets of Galway 8K Road Race on Saturday evening last, which started and finished at Southpark in the Claddagh. This was the 20th anniversary of the popular race, organised by Galway City Harriers, and saw numerous Galway athletes participating.

Streets of Galway 2005 - Results

  • Posted on: 8 February 2006
  • By: GCH Web

Place Number Time Name Club Sex Category
1 121 23;48 mark Kenneally Clonliffe Harriers M S
2 63 24;20 Neil Cusack Limerick AC M S
3 120 24;26 Pat Byrne Tinryland M S
4 348 24;36 Noel Berkely DSD AC M S
5 133 24;55 gary Thornton Galway City Harriers M S
6 108 25;16 Michael Clohisey Raheny M S
7 200 25;23 Paul Buckley Ferbane AC M S
8 131 25;35 Mike O' Connor Galway City Harriers M S
9 123 25;45 Dave Byrne Dublin M S
10 1408 25;50 Sean Gearoid Hehir Marian AC M S
11 1483 25;54 Cormac Finnerty Mullingar,Co.Westmeath M S