Streets of Galway

Corrib Oil Streets of Galway 8k 2011 Prizewinners

  • Posted on: 8 August 2011
  • By: GCH info

The list of prizewinners at the Corrib Oil Streets of Galway 8k 2011 is attached. We were able to present all the Senior prizes (top 10 men and top 8 women), as well as a couple of the age category prizes, and the team winners on the night. Special thanks to John O'Connor, Conrad Conneely and the athletes themselves - especially the Raheny gang, for helping us out with that! All other prizes will be posted out in the coming days. There are some fine performances amongst them.

Full Blown Statistical Analysis of the Streets Results 2010

  • Posted on: 11 August 2010
  • By: mel

[acidfree:4819 size=250 align=right title=""]I was wondering what heading to put on this story, and this is the only one that seems to fit! Runners love their numbers and and as a group they probably like statistics more than most. Finish times, chip times, interval pace, last year's times, next year's predictions, kilometre splits, wind speeds.. you get the idea.

Streets of Galway Team and Individual Prize Winners

  • Posted on: 11 August 2010
  • By: mel

Men's Team
1. Raheny Shamrocks AC, 27 (1,4,8,14) - David Rooney, Cillian O'Leary, Simon Reede, Damien Martin
2. Galway City Harriers AC, 52 (5,12,15,19) - Matthew Bidwell, Robert Staunton, Tony Scanlan, Barry Davey
Women's Team
1. Sportsworld RC, 198(55,66,77) - Aoife Brady, Crona Brady, Lucy D'Arcy
2. Raheny Shamrocks AC, 203 (33,56,114) - Patrycja Wlodarczyk, Aoife Talty, Annmarie Hickey
Senior Men
1. David Rooney Raheny Shamrocks AC 00:23:57
2. Sergiu Ciobanu Clonliffe Harriers 00:24:17

Streets of Galway 2010 Results

  • Posted on: 8 August 2010
  • By: mel

Provisional Results for the 2010 Streets of Galway 8k Road Race are attached.

Position Race NumberName Gender Category Club Finish Time Chip Time
1 2019 David Rooney M SM Raheny Shamrocks AC 00:23:57 00:23:56
2 6 Sergiu Ciobanu M SM Clonliffe Harriers 00:24:17 00:24:16
3 1283 John Cleary M SM Ferrybank AC 00:25:00 00:24:59
4 2079 Cillian O'Leary M SM Raheny Shamrocks AC 00:25:16 00:25:16
5 2297 Kenneth Rodgers M SM St Cronans AC 00:25:35 00:25:34
6 1453 Matthew Bidwell M SM Galway City Harriers AC 00:25:39 00:25:38
7 2322 James McIntyre M SM Finn Valley 00:25:53 00:25:51

The Streets At 30 - A Brief History

  • Posted on: 20 June 2010
  • By: mel

[acidfree:4701 size=350 align=center title=""]
1986 The first Streets of Galway is organised by Cospoir, predecessor to today’s Irish Sports Council, on Friday August 15th 1986. Its ethos is a "Mass Family Fun Run – Sport for All". Race headquarters are Moneenageisha College and the Great Southern Hotel, and the first race committee is: Jack Mahon, Mick Roche (Race Director), Geraldine Hanley, Sean McMenamon, Philip Cribben, Paddy Greaney, John McNamara and Jimmy Lydon. Entry is £4 and 560 runners take part.