Senior Racing

Streets of Galway 2006 - Results

  • Posted on: 13 August 2006
  • By: GCH Web

Last night's FUTURE Streets of Galway was another great race. A sincere thanks to our sponsors and all the volunteers and helpers who contributed so much to making the race a success.

The men's race was won in fine style by Seamus Power of Kilmurry Ibrickane/North Clare. The women's race was won by Rosemary Ryan of Bilboa AC. A full race report with category and team results can be found here. Meanwhile here's the full list of finishers and times.

Corrected Times (23-Aug-06)

Place Number Time Name Club Sex Category

Claregalway 10k, 6pm on Saturday 19th August

  • Posted on: 13 August 2006
  • By: Vincent

The Clare River Harriers Athletic Club 18th Annual Road Race is on nex Saturday 19 Aug 2006 at 6:00pm. As well as being a regular road race and fun-run/walk it incorporates the Galway County AAI 10K Road Championships for 2006. Tee-shirt for all participants.


Entry fee €15 (€5 of this goes to Galway Hospice). Entries taken up to 5.40pm on race day. Race registration, finish and changing facilities are at the Claregalway Sports Centre. The start is at 6pm Sharp outside Claregalway National School.


First 3 men and first 3 ladies
First 2 men's teams (four per team)


View from the back of the pack!

  • Posted on: 25 May 2006
  • By: Maire

Having completed the first three 5k races in the Series, I just want to share my views on the events. Although I run regularly at distances from 5k to marathons, I do not class myself as a fast runner, a fact borne out by these 5k events!

Nevertheless, it is a great feeling to complete these runs with such a wide and varied field of runners. This is what these Tues. nights runs are all about, taking part at your own pace and getting to the finish line in one piece. The Galway Meet and Train group has been well represented in the series, with Dolores Foley, Bridie Folliard, Geraldine Fegan, Maire Kelly, Pearl McDonagh, Pauline O'Halloran and Lorraine McStay all taking part. We hope to have an even bigger contingent out for the final night in Dangan on May 30th.

GCH Excel Again in 5k series

  • Posted on: 24 May 2006
  • By: Vincent

Once again our members scored well in the County Galway 5k series. Ruaidhrí Geraghty won the Craughwell 5k in 16:32 on a fairly tough course in windy conditions. He was followed again by Conor Moloney in second. Ned O'Sullivan (unaffiliated) was third man - I guess that means he'll be running in a Craughwell AC vest next week! Martin McEvilly was fifth overall and John Devlin made it four in the top six for GCH.

Regina Casey was first woman home in 19:12 with Anne-Marie Miskell taking second.

Harriers going well in 5k series

  • Posted on: 19 May 2006
  • By: Vincent

Many club members are showing great form in the County Galway 5k Series.

Ruaidhrí Geraghty and Conor Moloney have run two excellent races so far. Jason Broderick had to work hard to keep Ruaidhrí at bay and in Tuam Robert Malseed went fast enough to make it two second place finishes in a row for Ruaidhrí. In both races Conor had held a solid grip on third place.

Anne-Marie Miskell was first woman home in Athenry, and second to fellow cub member Regina Casey in Tuam. Along with Anne-Marie, Michelle Lynch and Bernie Kelly have completed both races in excellent times.

County Galway 5km May Series - Tuam AC [No. 2]

  • Posted on: 12 May 2006
  • By: GCH Web

Race arrangements for the Tuam 5k race are as follows.

Registration & Assembly

All runners meet at Tuam Cathedral car park (Catholic Cathedral - we have two). Registration 7.00-7.10pm for new entries.

If you are entered for the series please bring your race number from Athenry with you on the night.


The race will start 7.30 pm from the new swimming pool in Tuam. This is 300yards from Tuam Cathedral.

Gerry Ryan wins again

  • Posted on: 10 April 2006
  • By: Vincent

Gerry Ryan won the Sonny Murphy Memorial 10 mile race in Kilnaboy Co. Clare yesterday. His winning time of 51:00 was some 2:23 ahead of second place John Byrne of Mayo AC. This is Gerry's second win in a row in Clare having taken the Quilty 4 mile race the previous Sunday.

Gerry lead the GCH men's team and with good scores from John O'Brien, Ian Egan and John Devlin they edged out Tulla AC to win the men's team competition.

Bernie Kelly once again raced in as the first GCH woman home, winning third in her category.

GCH Runners:


Galway AAI Outdoor Track & Field Championships, Dangan. 6:30pm 26th May 2006

  • Posted on: 23 March 2006
  • By: Vincent

The Galway AAI outdoor T&F Championships will take place in Dangan, Newcastle at 6:30pm Friday 26th May 2006. All athletes who are members of an AAI club are invited to attend. Entries are to be made in advance through your club secretary.

The running order for all events is given below. In age groups where two age groups are competing (e.g. U17 & Senior) the lower height hurdle or weight will be used. See safety notes at the end.

Track Events Schedule
First event starts at 6:30pm. Subsequent events will begin immediately thereafter. Also see safety notes below.