Senior Racing

Galway 5k Series 2013 - Claregalway Results

  • Posted on: 8 May 2013
  • By: JoanneOB

The 2nd leg of the Galway 5K Series was held last night, Tuesday 7th May in Claregalway with 64 participants taking part from the Galway City Harriers.

Congrats to Billy King who came 2nd in the Men’s Race in 16:57 and Regina Casey of GCH who was the 1st lady home in 18:48

A list of all the GCH participants is attached below and for full results go to

Galway 5k Series 2013 - Athenry Results

  • Posted on: 8 May 2013
  • By: JoanneOB

The Galway 5K Series kicked off last week on Tuesday 30th April in Athenry.

Galway City Harriers have 85 participants registered for the race and of that 76 took part in the Athenry Leg.
With the new fast course, there were new lots of new PB’s to kick start the series.

Congrats to Owen Byre of GCH who came 1st in the Men’s Race in 16:34 and Billy King of GCH who followed closely in 3rd in 16:43.

A list of all the GCH participants is attached below and for full results go to

Medals Announced for Craughwell 10

  • Posted on: 1 May 2013
  • By: JoanneOB

[Acidfree:9041]Congrats to everyone who took part in this year’s Craughwell 10 mile held on 24th March 2013.

GCH took home gold medals in both the Women’s and Men’s Team categories.

The GCH Men’s team comprised of Matt Bidwell, Chris McGrath, Sean Hanley and Dermot Lowe. And representing the GCH Women’s Senior Team was Regina Casey, Barbara Dunne, Jane Walsh & Breege McGrath.

There were also Individual Medal winners with Regina Casey taking home Gold and Barbara Dunne Bronze in the Women’s Senior Race.

In the MO40 Sean Hanley won Silver and Niall Murphy won Bronze.

GCH National 10k Winners!

  • Posted on: 25 April 2013
  • By: JoanneOB

Well done to everyone from the club who took part in this year's National 10k Championships in Phoenix Park on April 14th held in conjunction with the Great Ireland Run. The club was well represented with almost 30 members taking part in the event this year.

Congrats to Matt Bidwell who once again took 1st place victory in the M40 category in 33:36.

In the M35+ category GCH also took home first place with Matt Bidwell, Gerry Carty and Brian Bruton finishing in a total time of 1:46:54. Second was Tullamore Harriers Athletic Club in 1:52:02 and 3rd was Mayo Ac in 1:54:16.

Results of Galway Sports Partnership 10km 2013

  • Posted on: 22 April 2013
  • By: JoanneOB

The 2nd Annual Galway Sports Partnership 10k took place in Labane / Ardrahan on Saturday 20th April 2013 with over 200 people taking part this year. Galway City Harriers were well represented with lots of take home prizes on the day for club members.

The Men’s race was won by Matt Bidwell of GCH in 33:21, followed closely by Peter O’Sullivan in 2nd place in a time of 33:35 with Gearoid Hynes of GCH achieving 3rd place in 35:32.

Dates announced for County T&F & Cross-Coun​try Championsh​ips

  • Posted on: 16 April 2013
  • By: JoanneOB

Provisional dates and venues for the 2013 County Track and Field and Cross-Country Championships

Juvenile Track & Field:
Sunday, 12 May 2013 U9-11s @ Dangan 12:30pm - Competition Secretary: Mike Tobin
Sunday, 19 May 2013 U12-19s @ Dangan 11am - Competition Secretary: James Lundon

Senior Track & Field:
Sunday, 23rd June 2013 Day One @ Dangan 1:30pm
Thursday, 4th July 2013 Day Two @ Dangan 7:30pm
Tuesday, 9th July 2013 Day Three @ Dangan 7:30pm
More details in due course.

Cross Country:
Sunday, 6th October 2013 (Even Ages and Adult)
Sunday, 20th October 2013 (Odd Ages)

Gary Thornton wins North Pole Marathon

  • Posted on: 16 April 2013
  • By: JoanneOB

Congrats to Gary Thornton who beat 50 other international competitors to win the North Pole Marathon on Tuesday 9th April.
Facing brutal conditions of -30 degrees, he completed the marathon in 3:49:29. The race took place at Camp Barneo, an annual Russian military camp, which is close to the geographical North Pole.
"The course was brutal. It’s like you’re on the moon up there,” he said afterwards. “I’d only raced in two before this, in cities, so this was totally different to what I’ve ever done. I had to wear a face mask and really needed that, it was brutally cold.”

Connemara Marathon 2013

  • Posted on: 13 April 2013
  • By: JoanneOB

The Connemara Marathon series of races took place for the 12th year on Sunday 7th April. Conditions were cold and windy and yet a field of almost 2800 competitors across all races took part. There were three races on the day, a Half marathon, Full marathon, and Ultra-marathon (39.3 miles)

The Half Marathon was won by Matt Bidwell (Galway City Harriers) for the second year in a row in a time of 1:19:29. He was followed by Phil Kilgannon (Sportsworld) in 1:21:18 and in 3rd place was Clive Brown in 1:22:29.