Senior News

News for senior members and athletes

Indoor T&F Championships this Saturday, 6th January

  • Posted on: 3 January 2007
  • By: Vincent

The County Indoor Championships are on this Saturday at the indoor track in Nenagh, Co. Tipperary. The meeting kicks off with a 3000m for Senior athletes as the first event on the program at 10.30am.

With all the wind and rain recently wouldn't it be nice to go for a run without getting hammered by gale force winds, driving rain and even falling trees ( I had to jump a couple during a workout today)?

Indoor running is a very different experience to what most of us are accustomed to, and I would encourage those of you who haven't previously done so to give it a go. The shorter distance is useful for putting a bit of zip into your training and racing at this time of year.

Gary Thornton wins in Athenry, GCH 1st in team competitions and many veteran categories

  • Posted on: 26 December 2006
  • By: Vincent

Earlier today Gary Thornton of GCH put in a storming performance to win the Fields of Athenry 10k. He finished well over a minute ahead of Paul McNamara (Athenry AC) in 30:12. Michael O'Connor also ran a very strong race to finish in 31:50 and took third place. Ian Egan and Joe O'Donnell in 13th and 14th places respectively made up the winning team from GCH.

Regina Casey ran an excellent 38:52 to take second place in the Women's race which was won, once again by Lucy Brennan (Sligo AC) in 37:03. Michelle Lynch took 3rd place in 42:37. Aideen de Paor and Jane Campbell completed the winning GCH women's team.

Tuam 8k details announced

  • Posted on: 4 December 2006
  • By: Vincent

Tuam Cathedral of the Assumption Tuam AC have announced the details of their annual 8k. Always a good race.

Date & Time: 2pm - Sunday 14th January
Starting Location:- Tuam Cathedral (of the Assumption)

Entry fee: €10 (free T-shirt for all finishers).

Further details available from:
Patricia Monaghan 093 25297
Patricia Mooney 087 6425254

Bernie Meaney Memorial Annual St. Mary's 5K Road Race Results

  • Posted on: 30 October 2006
  • By: BernieK

Bernie Meaney Memorial 32nd Annual St Marys 5k Road race at Kilmurry Mc Mahon Co Clare 30-10-2006.
Run in ideal running conditions the club chairman Thomas Porter and the club secretary Bernie Kelly both featured in the prizegiving in their respective categories. Full results were as follows;

1. Eugene Moynihan Marian 16 : 06
2. Tim O’Connor Riocht 16 : 19
3. Donal Howley Kilmurry Ibk./North Clare 16 : 23
4. Martin Corcoran Loughrea O/40 16 : 28
5. Mike Solan Tulla O/40 16 : 58
6. Tadgh Vaughan Coolquill O/40 17 : 05
7. Darragh O’Brien Loughrea 17 : 15


Galway County Cross-Country Championships - Sunday, 15th October

  • Posted on: 29 September 2006
  • By: Vincent

We're hoping to put together several club teams for the upcoming Cross-Country County Championships on 15th October in Tuam.

The Novice category is for anybody who either hasn't run cross-country before or hasn't yet won a cross-country medal. We're looking for a couple more people to make up a Novice team from the club for the first time in several years.

Where and When

Sunday, 15th October
Palace Grounds, Tuam - Juvenile Races start at 1pm. Senior races after the juvenile program is complete (probably sometime after 2pm).


GCH members should contact Bernie ( with your details. Bernie will make a club entry on behalf of all members and the club will pay your entry fee.

GCH Women's Team in winning form

  • Posted on: 22 August 2006
  • By: BernieK

There was a big turnout for the Claregalway 10k road race at the weekend, which also incorporated the 2006 Galway AAI 10k Road Championships.

In the open Senior Men's race, Mayo AC were dominant - winning both the individual and team titles, with John Byrne recording an excellent time of 32.20 to lead his team to gold with teammates Paddy Murray (3rd 34.28), Billy Gallagher (9th 35.39) and Hugh Duffy (10th 36.04).

In the open Senior Women's race, Galway City Harriers recorded a convincing victory in both individual and team events - Ann Marie Miskell taking the individual gold in a time of 40.24 followed by teammates Tara Whyte (4th 44.52) and Bernie Kelly (5th 45.44).


2006 FUTURE Streets of Galway 8k Race Report

  • Posted on: 15 August 2006
  • By: GCH Web

[acidfree:117 size=300 align=right title="Seamus Power and Rosemary Ryan, race winners"]

The 21st Streets of Galway 8K Road Race, sponsored by local financial and brokerage firm FUTURE , took place on Saturday evening last. A record 1,452 participants crossed the finish line along Nimmos Pier in the Claddagh.

Streets of Galway 2006 - Results

  • Posted on: 13 August 2006
  • By: GCH Web

Last night's FUTURE Streets of Galway was another great race. A sincere thanks to our sponsors and all the volunteers and helpers who contributed so much to making the race a success.

The men's race was won in fine style by Seamus Power of Kilmurry Ibrickane/North Clare. The women's race was won by Rosemary Ryan of Bilboa AC. A full race report with category and team results can be found here. Meanwhile here's the full list of finishers and times.

Corrected Times (23-Aug-06)

Place Number Time Name Club Sex Category

Connaught Championships, Dangan, 17th June '06

  • Posted on: 8 June 2006
  • By: BernieK

Order of Events 17th June 2006- Galway.
All Subject to registered entries.
All subject to change by the Competition Secretary.

10.30am Girls U14 Walk 2000m Boys U14 Walk 2000m
Girls U15 Walk 2000m Boys U15 Walk 2000m
Girls U16 Walk 2000m Boys U16 Walk 3000m
Girls U17 Walk 3000m Boys U17 Walk 3000m
Girls U18 Walk 3000m Boys U18 Walk 5000m
Girls U19 Walk 3000m Boys U19 Walk 5000m

11.00am Girls U15 250mH (2’3